HTTP status code is like a short note from which the user gets the message sent by the server. This is not the content of the website, rather it displays the message that how things went when a request was made by the user to show a page.

The full form of HTTP is Hypertext Transfer Protocol. These codes are in 3 digits.

When a user makes a request to the server, the server responds to it through an HTTP status code. These codes show whether the user’s request has been fulfilled or not or whether the user needs to take any other action.

HTTP Status Codes Categories

This is the list of HTTP status codes

HTTP status codes are in 3 digits which can be divided into 5 categories. These categories are as follows-

  1. Informational Code (100 – 199)
  2. Successful Message Code (200 – 299)
  3. Redirection Code (300 – 399)
  4. Client Side Errors Code (400 – 499)
  5. Server Error Code (500 – 599)

Also read:

Important HTTP Status Codes

We cannot put all HTTP status codes in one post, so we will read about some HTTP status codes here which is very important for us to know.

So let’s know about some important HTTP status codes

200 –

When you open a page and it opens without any difficulty, then understand that it is open with 200 code. 200 code means successful or OK.

When a website page is opened successfully without any error then it is opened with 200 code.

301 –

When a page is redirected permanently to another page, it displays a 301 code. 301 code means permanently moved.

This is usually done when an HTTP page is moved to HTTPS or a www page to non-www or a non-www page to www permanently.

302 –

Status code 302 is used to tell the search engine that the content it is looking for on one link has been found on another link. So 302 means “Found“.

It is also called temporary redirection or temporarily moved which means when the 302 status code is used, it is not permanent but is temporary.

With this, the search engine is also told that this page has been moved to another link for some time, so it should not affect the ranking.

303 –

303 status code is used when you do not want the user to be redirected back to a URL.

If I explain by giving an example, then suppose you have given a contact form on your website, which the user has to fill.

Now once the user fills that form, he can fill that form again by pressing the back button, so that he will fill the contact form 2 times.

To avoid this, 303 code is used. So 303 means “See Other“.

304 –

304 means “Not Changed“. Browsers keep the page of a website with them by the cache. Then when later a user wants to see the same page which is cached by the browser, then the browser shows the same page.

But it may also happen that the content of the page has been modified after caching.

When the browser visits the link of that page and the server shows it a 304 status code, it means that the content has not been changed yet and the browser can show the same content to the user which it has saved.

401 –

401 status code is also called “Unauthorized”. Some websites are such that you need a username and password to use. If you enter the wrong username or password, you may get a 401 error.

This type of error can occur when accessing password-protected pages which require authentication credentials.

403 –

Sometimes 403 is assumed to be the same as 401. But it is different from 401. 403 means “Forbidden“.

Where 401 is given when you enter wrong login details to access a page, 403 means that you are not authorized to access some pages.

Suppose you are trying to access a page that can be accessed by only an admin and you are not an admin then you will get a 403 error.

404 –

404 error image

This is the most famous HTTP status code. 404 means “Not Found“.

This error can be mostly caused by the user. When a user enters the wrong URL, a 404 error is seen.

Apart from this, content that has been removed or transferred from the website can show a 404 error.

410 –

Status code 410 means “Gone“.

When you permanently delete a page from your website, you can give a 410 status code for that page. This status code gives a message to Google crawlers that this page has been removed from the website.

Seeing this status code, crawlers also remove the URL of that page from their index so that that page is not shown in the search engine.

429 –

429 error means “Too Many Requests“.

This error indicates that a user has made too many requests in a given time. Or in other words, the server wants to tell you through this error that stop sending requests.

To avoid this error, you should request to access a page after some time.

451 –

HTTP Status Code 451 means “Unavailable For Legal Reasons”.

Some pages or websites are blocked by the government, on accessing them we see 451 error.

500 –

It means “Internal Server Error“. 500 error is a server error.

It means that the request has been accepted but there is an error from the server-side which is preventing the request from being fulfilled. To fix this, you should talk to your website hosting provider.

503 –

A 503 error can occur when your website is in maintenance mode. Apart from this, this error can also come when your server is not able to handle the traffic. A message of “Service Unavailable” is displayed when a 503 error appears.


HTTP status codes are confusing but it is necessary for a website owner to be aware of them.

In this post, we have learned about more than 10 HTTP status codes. Hope you got to learn something new from this.

If you liked this post, share it with as many people as possible.

Thank you.

Spread the love